2017 UK Car of the Year winners announced

The Mercedes E-class has been voted UK Car of the Year, with ten manufacturers sharing  the 12 category wins.

As well as Mercedes, Hyundai, Renault, Toyota, Volvo and Seat all grabbed the top spot in one of the mainstream categories, while Porsche picked up two awards through its Cayman and Boxster models.

The awards, voted for by a panel of 27 leading motoring journalists, including Company Car Today Editor Paul Barker and Contributing Editor Tristan Young, saw the Mazda MX-5 win in 2016, succeeding the BMW i8 (2015) and i3 (2014).

“Mercedes-Benz has a long history of creating impressive saloon cars and the new E-Class continues this trend and raises the bar in the executive vehicle sector,” said John Challen, director of the UK Car of the Year Awards. “Stunning inside and out, it takes driver and passengers into the realms of luxury. The level of technology – and the attention to detail – at your fingertips is astounding.”

Hyundai’s hybrid and electric Ioniq grabbed the small car class, while fellow hybrid Toyota’s Prius was the family car of the year. Mercedes’ new E-class was the executive segment winner, one of two awards the German brand collected, and Renault’s new Scenic and Grand Scenic was the MPV of the year.

Seat’s well-received new Ateca continued to impress in picking up the best crossover title, while the Jaguar F-Pace topped the pile for large crossovers.


  • Best Small Hatch – Hyundai IONIQ
  • Best Family Car – Toyota Prius
  • Best Executive Car – Mercedes-Benz E-Class
  • Best Luxury Car – Rolls-Royce Dawn
  • Best Estate Car – Volvo V90
  • Best MPV – Renault Scénic/Grand Scénic
  • Best Crossover – SEAT Ateca
  • Best Large Crossover – Jaguar F-Pace
  • Best Coupe – Porsche 718 Cayman
  • Best Cabriolet – Mercedes-Benz S-Class Cabriolet
  • Best Sports Car – Porsche 718 Boxster
  • Best Performance Car – Ford Focus RS
  • UK Car of the Year – Mercedes E-class