BMW 320D long term test review

Long-term test reviews

Update -4th September 2019

Long Term Test - BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport - Update - 4th September 2019 - Main Image - Gearbox swaps ratios smoothly

After a few weeks of shuffling back and forth between home, work and my girlfriend’s place, the BMW was required to undertake its first long journey when myself and a couple of motorsport-loving mates decided to take in the British Touring Car Championship at Oulton Park in Cheshire.

Long Term Test - BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport - Update - 4th September 2019 - Image 2 - Trip to Oulton went wellThe 320d was superb, devouring the M40, M42 and M6 without even a hint of displeasure, and we arrived fresh and ready for a day of good racing.

After watching a couple of BMW wins, we hit the road home, and again the BMW impressed by being amazingly quiet and (with the adaptive suspension in Comfort mode) serenely comfortable. Roll on more long trips.

Euan Doig

The stats

BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport

P11D: £39,415

Official combined mpg: 61.4mpg

Our combined mpg: 49.8mpg

CO2: 121g/km

Introduction - 7th August 2019

Long Term Test - BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport - Introduction - 7th August 2019 - Main Image - The 320D is a great looking car

I’ve never considered myself to be much of an executive. I don’t have any hair to slick back, I’ve never owned a briefcase, and while I do possess a suit, it’s been too small for a number of years.

However, one way in which I’m happy to play exec is by driving a new BMW 320d for the next six months. Will it cope with commutes here, there and everywhere? What will it be like on long journeys? Will it cope with a family holiday? How thirsty will it be? And is all the extra tech worth the additional outlay?

Long Term Test - BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport - Introduction - 7th August 2019 - Image 2 - interiorOh yes, our car certainly has plenty of extra equipment, including BMW’s Technology pack, which includes a head-up display, wireless mobile phone charging, a Wi-Fi hotspot and gesture control. We’ve also got the Premium package with electric glass sunroof and electrically adjustable front seats.

Then there’s the M Sport Plus pack with 19-inch alloys, M Sport brakes, M-branded seatbelts and a rear spoiler.

This isn’t even everything, but we’ll look into the merits of the various extras over the course of the next six months.

Initial impressions are really good. The car looks splendid in Black Sapphire paint, and it drives as well as it looks. The engine pulls strongly, the gearbox shifts pretty smoothly, and it is incredibly quiet.

The next six months are going to fly by.

Euan Doig 

Tester's notes

1. The first few tanks of fuel have resulted in an average fuel economy figure of 49.8mpg, which isn’t bad but I hope to break the 50mpg barrier soon, once the cars fully loosened up.

2. It’s taking me a while to adjust to the brakes.  They’re certainly strong, but the initial application is very sharp.  It can also be a touch tricky to bring the car to a smooth halt.

 

The stats

BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport

P11D: £39,415

Official combined mpg: 61.4mpg

Our combined mpg: 49.8mpg

CO2: 121g/km

Preview - 10th July 2019

Long Term Test - BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport - Preview - 10th July 2019 - Main Image

He’s a wonderful man, that Mr Editor Barker, sir. Doubtless there are many other reasons for this, but the one I’m concerned with is the fact that he’s decided I should run a new BMW 320d saloon for the next six months. Oh yes. That pay rise I asked for? Don’t sweat it, boss. This’ll do.

Long Term Test - BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport - Preview - 10th July 2019 - Image 2 - CockpitIt’s the sort of car that should suit me perfectly. I do a decent mileage, so the fact that it’s an economical diesel is ideal.

To my mind, the 3-Series is the perfect size. It’s small enough to feel nimble and fun, but big enough to be spacious.

Finally, the only machine with more kit inside has the word ‘NASA’ writ large on the side. The next half year is going to be very interesting indeed.

Euan Doig 

The stats

BMW 320D XDRIVE M Sport

P11D: £39,415

Official combined mpg: 61.4mpg

Our combined mpg: n/ampg

CO2: 121g/km