Honda CR-V Hybrid long term test review

Long-term test reviews

Update - 7th August 2019

Long Term Test - Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD - Update - 7th August 2019 - Main Image - The CR-V's infotainment system isn't the most intuitive

Everything is going swimmingly with our long-term Honda CR-V. Almost.

Long Term Test - Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD - Update - 7th August 2019 - Image 2 - Trying to get to a non-preset radio station proved problematic - even for a tech savvy teenagerThe infotainment system is not what you’d call intuitive. Sure, it’s got an amazing array of functions and many, many customisable settings, but some things that should be easy just aren’t.

The perfect summary came from my tech-savvy teenager who tried and failed to switch to a non-preset radio station in the CR-V (because she didn’t like my choice of Absolute 80s– or anything else I’d preset) and uttered the immortal phrase: “I feel like a granny with a new mobile phone.”

Fortunately, if it does all get a bit too much, Apple CarPlay is standard, so I find myself just using this more and more.

Tristan Young  

The stats

Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD

P11D: £TBA

Official combined mpg: 40.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 41.7mpg

CO2: 120g/kmg/km

First Report - 24th July 2019

Long Term Test - Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD - First Report - 24th July 2019 - Main Image

This is a first. After more than 20 years of running a range of test cars, the Honda CR-V hybrid is the first to achieve a real-world fuel efficiency figure better than the official mpg.

Yup, the CR-V has averaged 41.7mpg against the official 40.9mpg.

What’s more I have to admit that just about all of this has been done with the Sport mode engaged (see Tester’s notes). I’ve only briefly tried Normal or Eco, which are also on offer, but will remedy this soon.

The Honda has provided a few other positive first impressions, too.

First up is comfort level, which is excellent. I’ve already been on a few longer journeys and can report zero back pain or discomfort. It’s easy to find a comfortable driving position and there’s a good range of seat adjustments including powered lumbar support.

Long Term Test - Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD - First Report - 24th July 2019 - Image 2 - Decent boot size is able to take several bags of garden wasteAlso helping longer journeys is the adaptive cruise control, which includes a stop-and-go function. In traffic jams it’s the smoothest system I’ve tested and tries to keep the car creeping for as long as possible before it has to stop.

Also worthy of early praise is the size of the boot. Not only is there a decent expanse of floor area, but it’s good height, too. And with the seats folded you can get two ‘dumpy bags’ in for a tip run.

Long may the CR-V continue to outperform my expectations.

Tristan Young

Tester's notes

1. If you’re less than six-feet tall the boot opens to just the correct height. But if you, like me, are just over 6ft tall then you’ll have to remember to duck when loading the boot or risk bumping your head.

2. Throttle response in Normal and Eco modes is sluggish and the car isn’t quick to start with. Sport mode is best.

The stats

Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD

P11D: £TBA

Official combined mpg: 40.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 41.7mpg

CO2: 120g/kmg/km

Preview - 26th June 2019

Long Term Test - Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD - Preview - 26th June 2019 - Main Image

Honda is no stranger to the hybrid market, so it should come as no surprise that the latest version of the CR-V, introduced at the start of this year, is now offered as a self-charging petrol-electric hybrid.

Long Term Test - Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD - Preview - 26th June 2019 - Image 2The hybrid element means company car drivers can now have a family SUV with one of the most competitive benefit-in-kind tax positions going.

The 120g/km emissions figure is already better than most diesel adversaries’, which incur a 4% penalty. For this tax year, the CR-V comes in with a 28% tax band.

Fuel consumption is where the Honda could struggle. Its official figure of 40.9mpg is some way behind diesel rivals’. But as we’ve said before, petrol is a lot cheaper than diesel these days and it could be that the CR-V costs less per mile.

Over the next six months we’ll find out.

Tristan Young  

The stats

Honda CR-V 2.0 Hybrid SR 2WD

P11D: £TBA

Official combined mpg: 40.9mpg

Our combined mpg: n/ampg

CO2: 120g/kmg/km