Seat Tarraco long term test review

Long-term test reviews

Update - 18th September 2019

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Update - 18th September 2019 - Main image - Tarraco was top workhorse

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Update - 18th September 2019 - Image 2 - Seat is large and capableThe Tarraco is proving to be a really flexible workhorse.

During a recent weekend outing to a Steam Rally event aimed at raising funds for our local Air Cadet squadron, the Tarraco coped easily with the transport of cadets, equipment and tombola goodies and prizes to their destination in the middle of the North Essex countryside.

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Update - 18th September 2019 - Image 3 - Tarraco did an excellent job of ferrying Air Cadet, equipment and tombola prizes to a local steam rallySeat’s largest crossover is an extremely practical load-lugger and even when fully laden, the 150hp TDI engine never feels sluggish, pulling easily through all the ratios in the six-speed manual gearbox.

 

Dave Wallace

The stats

Seat Tarraco 2.0 TDI 150 SE Technology

P11D: £30,555

Official combined mpg: 47.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 43.7mpg

CO2: 129g/kmg/km

Four Month Report - 4th September 2019

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Four Month Report - 4th September 2019 - Main image - Vast Tarraco is a great family car

Technology is something that certainly isn’t lacking in this trim level (the clue is in the car’s name). The Tarraco really does feature quite an impressive list of tech and, when married to the digital cockpit and 8.0-inch central display, really provides you with what seems like endless configurations of data displayed.

Whether it’s fuel economy/remaining range data, radio, media, safety features, lighting, navigation, telephone (controversial, I know), engine output in KW, or G-force being applied to the car, there is an abundance of display options. And that’s before you get to the Android Auto or Apple CarPlay screens. If you’re a gadget nerd then you’ll love it!

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Four Month Report - 4th September 2019 - Image 2 - Large dashboard map display is clearI really like the ability of the digital dashboard to display the navigation map full-screen.  You still get important data in the map, such as speed, but for me, a quick look down to see the map in my dash is safer than eyes turning left to view it on the central screen.  But if that’s not your thing, don’t worry – you can still have the full navigation display in the central screen and stick with the turn-by-turn instructions displaying between the speedo and rev counter.

Dave Wallace

Tester's notes

1. The weather has been mixed of late but the three-zone climate-control across the front and back is pretty useful.

2. The front cupholders are the best I’ve come across, adapting easily to almost all but the largest cup, can or bottle sizes.

The stats

Seat Tarraco 2.0 TDI 150 SE Technology

P11D: £30,555

Official combined mpg: 47.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 44.2mpg

CO2: 129g/kmg/km

Update - 7th August 2019

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Update - 7th August 2019 - Main Image - The Tarraco gets put through its paces on a cub camping trip

I’ve been testing the Tarraco’s load-lugging ability of late. First up was a run to the local recycling centre to drop off our old dining room chairs. Easy! But what about the biggy: a weekend’s camping with the local cub scouts?

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Update - 7th August 2019 - image 2 - Room for boxesIn five-seat configuration, with the third-row of seats folded, the Tarraco’s 700 litres of boot space swallowed our five-man tent, camping chairs, holdalls, clothes, food and various other items of camping paraphernalia. There was still room in the boot for several boxes, which are something of a permanent fixture because I carry them for work. Best of all, the weekend was a complete success!

David Wallace  

The stats

Seat Tarraco 2.0 TDI 150 SE Technology

P11D: £30,555

Official combined mpg: 47.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 46.6mpg

CO2: 129g/kmg/km

Update - 24th July 2019

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Update - 24th July 2019 - Main Image - The Tarraco has been through its paces over the last couple of weeks including a trip to Goodwood FoS

This past month I’ve done plenty of mileage in the Tarraco, with a combination of client visits, kids’ clubs, weekly shops and even a spin down to Sussex for the Goodwood Festival of Speed.

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Update - 24th July 2019 - Image 2 - Lane keep assist is too sensitive but you need to turn it off each time you start the engineAnd the Tarraco has coped admirably.  Cruise control set, motorways fly by, and on twisty B-roads while the Tarraco is no 3-Series, it’s still an enjoyable drive.

But. Lane keep assist. It’s too intrusive (as most of these systems are) and I find myself switching it off.  I just wish I didn’t have to go through the process of turning it off every time I start the engine.

Dave Wallace

The stats

Seat Tarraco 2.0 TDI 150 SE Technology

P11D: £30,555

Official combined mpg: 47.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 46.6mpg

CO2: 129g/kmg/km

Second Report - 26th June 2019

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Second Report - 26th June 2019 - Main Image - The overall first impression is positive

First impressions of the all-new Tarraco are positive. Walking round the car, there are a few things that catch my eye immediately, such as the two-tone black and silver alloys and the full LED headlights that have a beautiful little pattern etched into the glass.

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Second Report - 26th June 2019 - Image 2 - Etching on the class for the LED headlights is a nice touchI’m not sure this etching has any particular purpose, but it is a nice little touch of design that shows a certain attention to detail.

Inside, the first thing that strikes me about the Tarraco is the feeling of space. Perhaps that’s an illusion brought about by having those additional two seats in the back – time will tell once the Wallace horde makes full use of the car.

The Tarraco also benefits from the VW Group’s digital instrument panel as well as a central eight-inch LED screen which, between the two of them, seem to provide the driver with all the standard readouts and then some.

The 2.0-litre 150hp engine on test here is mated to a six-speed manual gearbox which helps keep CO2 below 130g/km.  You can choose a driving profile via a dial located just below the gearstick.  There are Normal, Eco, Sport and Individual options, and I’ll be taking a proper look at this in my upcoming reports.

Dave Wallace

Tester's notes

1. The Tarraco offers great flexibility, with all seats in the second and third rows able to slide and fold. The boot is able to provide up to 1775 litres of space.

2. The full LED headlights are a boon, giving great visibility even on the darkest of nights and unlit roads.

The stats

Seat Tarraco 2.0 TDI 150 SE Technology

P11D: £30,555

Official combined mpg: 47.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 46.6mpg

CO2: 129g/kmg/km

First Report - 29th May 2019

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - 29th May 2019 - First Report - Main Image

We’re getting to know our latest arrival, with the Seat Tarraco already feeling like a useful addition to both the Spanish brand’s range and to our fleet.

I’ve been enjoying the early miles before it switches to colleague Dave Wallace and his larger family, but the flexibility of seven seats, including a middle row that slides to balance legroom across the car, is being put to good use. That’s partly because children seem to gravitate towards the novelty value of the rearmost row whenever possible.

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - Image 2 - Middle row seats slide back and forth to optimise configuration & spaceI’m glad we’ve gone for the SE Technology trim level, because the larger alloys on higher trims, rather than our car’s 18-inch wheels, really don’t help the ride quality, but the second up of four trim levels is still far from poverty spec, with sat-nav and privacy glass among the kit standard on all cars. Our car also has three-zone climate control, autonomous emergency braking, lane-keep assist, rear parking sensors and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto. And metallic paint, which is still an optional extra on most cars, but which Seat allows drivers to spec for free as part of its Easymove scheme. In this, the brand has almost eradicated options, and instead pushes drivers towards the right trim level for their spec and price requirements.

Paul Barker

Tester's notes

1. The seven-seat practicality is useful, as long as you’ve got a couple of passengers little enough to make use of the compact third row.

2. The 2.0-litre TDI 150hp engine in our car in front-wheel drive form is the only Tarraco that gets below 130g/km, a useful CO2 boundary to duck under.

The stats

Seat Tarraco 2.0 TDI 150 SE Technology

P11D: £30,555

Official combined mpg: 47.9mpg

Our combined mpg: 49.4mpg

CO2: 129g/kmg/km

Preview - 15th May 2019

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - 15th May 2019 - Preview - Main Image

Having been impressed with the new Seat Tarraco on our Big Test (see issue 51, 15th May 2019), we’ve decided to put it to the even tougher challenge of six months of hard labour on our long-term fleet.

We’ve gone for the most sensible fleet choice, the 2.0-litre 150hp diesel version.

Long Term Test - Seat Tarraco SE Technology - 15th May 2019 - Preview - Image 2 - Boot badgeThis ducks under the 130g/km boundary in front-wheel-drive manual form, while the SE Technology trim offers enough goodies while still keeping the cost under control and not being too extravagant.

Practicality will be put firmly to the test as a chariot to a family of five, plus dog, and we’re looking forward to seeing how the early positive impressions develop through the miles.

PAUL BARKER

The stats

Seat Tarraco 2.0 TDI 150 SE Technology

P11D: £30,555

Official combined mpg: 47.9mpg

Our combined mpg: n/ampg

CO2: 129g/kmg/km